Unfortunately, the state of Florida remains steadfast in its stance against using and possessing cannabis in any form. The only possible exception is if a licensed physician recommends that you use marijuana for medical reasons.
Until the state catches up with other areas of the nation that have legalized or decriminalized marijuana, it is wise to refrain from having and using cannabis in the Punta Gorda, Florida, region.
What can happen if arrested for possessing marijuana?
You will almost certainly face drug charges if the police catch you with cannabis. We have provided a brief outline of the state’s current marijuana laws and penalties below:
- Possessing fewer than 20 grams is a first-degree misdemeanor punishable by a fine and up to a year in jail.
- Possessing 20 grams to 25 pounds of marijuana or fewer than 300 plants is punishable by a fine and up to five years behind bars.
If caught with more than 25 pounds of cannabis, you will likely face drug trafficking charges, a first-degree felony in Florida. The offense is punishable by up to 15 years behind bars and fines of up to $200,000.
You will also face drug charges for the sale of cannabis. For example, selling more than 20 grams is a third-degree felony, even for a first offense. If the police arrest you again for selling weed, you can expect the possible penalties to increase.
Although it may seem as if nothing can save you from the worst possible outcome, please do not give up on yourself. Instead, try learning more about the drug charges filed against you and consider speaking with a professional advocate about protecting yourself from a conviction.