FLORIDA UNDERAGE DUI ATTORNEYS
Protecting Futures in Punta Gorda
In the state of Florida, the legal blood alcohol limit for drivers under the age of 21 is .02%. In light of the state’s Zero Tolerance policy for underage drunk driving, exceeding this limit will result in a number of consequences. If you or your child was arrested for under 21 DUI, it is important to enlist an experienced Punta Gorda criminal lawyer for your defense. Our experienced team at Leskovich Law Group, P.A. can protect your rights and advocate for your best interests before the courts.
Penalties for Underage Drunk Driving in Florida
The penalties for conviction of under 21 DUI are dependent upon the driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of arrest. Starting with the underage limit and getting higher, consequences become more severe.
- The relationship can be broken down as follows:
- BAC of .02% or less – license suspension of up to 6 months
- BAC of 02.% – .05% – license suspension up to 6 months, alcohol education program
- BAC of .08% or higher – criminal DUI charges including heavy fines, license suspension, and imprisonment
Conviction for underage DUI can have additional effects upon your life and future. Your license suspension can impact your ability to drive to school or work. Your college applications will require you to list any convictions, which may affect your ability to gain admittance to your desired school. You will also be forced to pay increased insurance rates, which could last for a number of years.
Charged with under 21 DUI in Punta Gorda?
If you are accused of underage drunk driving, do not hesitate to call our skilled law firm. Our attorneys are vastly experienced in the defense of DUI charges in Florida and we can fight for you. We can seek to have your charges dropped or penalties reduced and fight to protect your future.
Underage DUI charges are serious and should not be taken lightly; contact a Punta Gorda DUI lawyer from our firm today to discuss your defense options!