Charged With A Theft Offense In Florida? Our Firm Can Fight For You.
Theft is a very invasive, personal offense that results in harsh penalties under Florida state law. Whether an offender steals an item directly of an individual’s person or they break into a house or structure to take items or money, the crime could be penalized with a jail or prison sentence and heavy fines.
Some of the more common theft crimes are as follows:
Theft ( § 812.014 )
Theft is knowingly obtaining or using another person’s property, whether temporarily or permanently. Theft of property valuing $100,000 or more, or grand theft, is a first degree felony. Property valuing at least $20,000 but less than $100,000 is a second degree felony. Property valuing at least $300 but less than $20,000, or theft of a firearm or motor vehicle, is a third degree felony.
Burglary ( § 810.02 )
Burglary is entering a dwelling, structure or conveyance with the intent of committing a crime inside. Use of a firearm or deadly weapon, or assault and battery, during the crime is a first degree felony that will result in a prison sentence not to exceed a life term, as well as a fine of up to $10,000.
Entering a dwelling without being armed, or entering a structure or conveyance where people are present, is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine as high as $10,000. If the offender enters a structure or conveyance that is not a dwelling, and no one is present inside, it is a third degree felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000.
Robbery ( § 812.3 )
Robbery is taking money or property from the person of another with the intent of depriving them of that money or property, either temporarily or permanently, by using force, violence, assault, or the instillation of fear. If it involves a firearm or deadly weapon, it is a first degree felony punishable by as much as life in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. If a plain weapon was used, it is a first degree felony punishable by up to 30 years in prison and the same fine. If no firearm, deadly or other weapon was used, it is a second degree felony punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine as high as $10,000.
Home-Invasion Robbery ( § 812.135 )
Home-invasion robbery is entering a dwelling with the intent of committing robbery inside, as well as committing robbery of the occupants. With a firearm or deadly weapon, it is a first degree felony punishable by as much as life in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. With a simple weapon, or no weapon at all, it is a first degree felony punishable by a maximum of 30 years in prison and the same fine.
Get Help From A Skilled Punta Gorda Defense Lawyer
Contact Leskovich Law Group, P.A. immediately if you are facing any of the above charges. We have practiced criminal defense for decades, giving us extensive knowledge and understanding of effective defense strategies and procedures in Punta Gorda and across the state of Florida.
Call our office at 941-621-6623 to schedule your initial consultation or complete our free online case evaluation form to get started.
Our legal team could help you obtain a dismissal or reduction of your theft crime charges.