Experienced Defense For Assault Or Battery Charges In Florida
For more than 50 combined years, attorneys at Leskovich Law Group, P.A., have defended clients in Punta Gorda and the surrounding region who have faced criminal charges. Whether you face charges of assault, battery or both, you have a lot to gain from our experienced counsel. Just a few of the other charges we handle include:
- Violent offenses
- Domestic abuse
- Sex offenses
- White collar crime
- Theft and burglary
- Other property crimes
- Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI)
- Other misdemeanors and felonies
We have a proven record of dismissed charges, plea bargains, reduced sentences and acquittals. In some cases, we help our clients secure diversion programs or probation rather than incarceration. No matter what the circumstances of your case are, we fight exhaustively to protect your rights and get the outcome that minimizes the impact on your life.
Assault Vs. Aggravated Assault: What Is The Difference?
Florida law defines assault as a threat to do harm to another person, often accompanied by an act that creates the fear of harm in the victim. For example, threatening someone’s safety and making them fear for their physical safety can result in an assault charge.
Aggravated assault involves assault with the presence of a deadly weapon. Sentences for aggravated assault tend to be more severe than those for simple assault. While simple assault is a second-degree felony with up to 60 days of incarceration and a fine of up to $500, aggravated assault is a third-degree felony that carries with it up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.
What Does Battery Mean?
Assault does not have to involve a physical act. Battery, however, is when you hit, strike or otherwise lay hands on another person against their will. As a misdemeanor, it can result in up to one year of incarceration and up to $1,000 in fines. Battery escalates to a felony if the physical contact results in bodily harm to the victim. This is a third-degree felony with a sentence of up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines.
Aggravated battery, similar to aggravated assault, is battery that involves a deadly weapon. If the victim is pregnant, the charge automatically escalates to felony aggravated battery. The sentence for aggravated battery is up to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Seek Immediate Counsel From A Skilled Criminal Defense Attorney
The laws regarding assault and battery are incredibly strict. You need a lawyer present for every step of your case. At Leskovich Law Group, we will examine all avenues for your defense, including violations in protocol, failure to read your Miranda warning and other errors.
Call 941-621-6623 or send us an email to set up an initial consultation with us.